House votes to boot McCarthy from speakership – The Conservative


The U.S. House of Representatives has voted to remove Rep. Kevin McCarthy of California from his role as Speaker, a position he held since the beginning of this year.

This change was initiated by Rep. Matt Gaetz of Florida after McCarthy collaborated with Democrats to acquire votes for a budget resolution that prevented a government shutdown.

On Tuesday, the majority of House Republicans voted against removing Kevin McCarthy from the position of House Speaker.

However, Reps. Andy Biggs (Ariz.), Ken Buck (Colo.), Tim Burchett (Tenn.), Eli Crane (Ariz.), Matt Gaetz (Fla.), Bob Good (Va.), Nancy Mace (S.C.) and Matt Rosendale (Mont.) sided with Democrats to remove him.

As a result, a new speaker will need to be selected for the House.

In January, McCarthy was selected as Speaker of the House after fifteen rounds of voting.

This could occur again in the future, with multiple ballots cast before a decision is made. Republicans hold the majority in the House, albeit by a narrow margin.

“I support Motion to Vacate,” GOP Rep. Andy Biggs of of Arizona noted in a post on X. “Speaker McCarthy has failed to demonstrate himself as an effective leader who will change the status quo. He has gone against many of the promises he made in January and can no longer be trusted at the helm.”

ICYMI: Tucker Carlson Says 2024 Won’t Be Trump vs. Biden

Like this:

Like Loading…




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *